“Adventskalender” December 6th

December 6, 2010 § Leave a comment

Marc Antonio, Potosi, Bolivia, October 2010, © Daniel Hofer

The donut thing… this small anecdote began when I read an interview with photographer Alec Soth (who, btw, has a relatively new website). Jörg Colberg asked Alec Soth:

“Something that we talked about before is how to approach people for portraits. How do you go about this? In particular, if you are interested in doing nude work?”

Soth answered:

It isn’t too complicated. I drive around. I sit in donut shops. Walk malls. I look at people. Once in awhile someone catches my eye. Why? It is a hard thing to describe, but I think it is similar to the feeling you get when you see, you know, the attractive person across a crowded bar. Why is that person attractive to you? Some of it is culture, some of it is your own upbringing, etc. It is personal. I’m kind of tuned into this attraction. And when I feel it I approach the person. It is scary. And because it isn’t ‘normal’ it is probably scarier than approaching the person across the bar. The nudes are done in much the same way. But of course there is a lot more explanation and negotiation before we take the pictures.”

I very much like his answer, because somehow that answer gives me hope. His words say to me: take it easy, do what you have to do, and wait if waiting feels right. Something is gonna happen. And when that happens, use your chance! And everybody knows that strange, uncomfortable feeling when you would like to take a portrait of somebody but you are too shy to ask the person. Good to know that people like Soth feel the same way – and that everybody can possibly find a way to deal with those situations.

So everytime I see a donut (shop) I think of Soth and what he said, and when I saw Marc Antonio at a market in Potosi I knew I had to take a picture of him, just for Soth’s sake. Marc Antionio’s sister runs a pastry shop, and she is the first and only one who produces american style donuts in Potosi. Marc Antonio delivers the donuts and other pastry stuff to various street vendors, they are sold for about 0,45 Dollars. Delicious investment.

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Adventskalender” December 6th at Daniel in Bolivia.

meta

