April/May update!

May 16, 2011 § Leave a comment

Buenos dias, amigos!

After exciting travel posts from Bolivia in September and January, I must admit that sitting in my Berlin studio and doing post production / book design / preparing the thesis show etc. is not really that exciting for you, my dear readers (btw, almost 9000 clicks on this blog since August – not too bad!). But here is a tiny update/ overview on what’s happening.

First of all, editing roughly 2400 photographs is hard work. I spent a great deal of time on sequencing the selected photographs for my book. The next picture shows that I printed the pictures I liked all in a small size of 6*7 cm’s, which makes it easier to move them around and combine pictures in terms of spreads etc.

On top, that’s the material put together by place/colors/genre/topic … Beneath, i tried to put my favourite photographs in a sequence for the book, though that has already changed so many times! (For a larger version clck the pics)

I’m not done with the layout yet, but I wanted to figure out which pictures work with each other, maybe even as spreads, so I took snap shots of a couple of paires.



Watching the photographs over and over again, you really get mad and I must say that there are days when it’s quite hard to be motivated and continue the work – but as my final presentation and the thesis show will take place from July 8th-10th in my school in Dortmund, there are only 2 months left so I better keep working!

One strange thing that happens once in a while is that one finds so many new details in the scans one didn’t see before. For example the next photo (and I found that really shocking because I would never have expected that in Bolivia):

So far you might not notice something special, but then if you lighten up the shadows you see this:

A swastika (Hakenkreuz) tattooed onto the hand of a salt worker. I know that the swastika is not only a symbol that was used be the Nazis, also in India you do see it once in a while, having I think a religous/cultural (and not political) background there. But why do they use it in the Bolivian province? In case I ever come back, I’ll ask this worker.


The same guy together with my friend David Middlemiss who will contribute text to our book project (along with Nathaniel Freiburger). Dave, Nate and me will meet in Bristol/UK in July to bring together my photographs and their texts, and continue planning an exhibition of our project. We’ll also present the project to an institution / a great exhibition space in London, the people there seem to be quite interested in showing our lithium story there!

Some more pictures of my travels that so far didn’t make it into the tighter edit but I still like them…




Finally, I mentioned you get mad after looking at the pictures over and over again… I once noticed I photographed soo many bare light bulbs. If you turn them around ,they look like plants. Don’t they?

Everybody who’s around should come to the thesis show in Dortmund in July, it’s called “Schauraum” and I will not only show an exclusive first print of my book but also have some beautiful pictures on the wall 🙂

I hope that I will be able to have a bigger show with my photographs later this year in Berlin for all those who can’t make it to the Old West.

Invitations will come… Thanks for following / supporting this project!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading April/May update! at Daniel in Bolivia.

meta

